more from
Heard and Felt
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Stylin' 1000

by Ennio Styles

supported by
damianmc
damianmc thumbnail
damianmc Came across Ennio on WWFM. This album is stocked full of quality tracks all the way through! Great buy!
jazzzbuster5
jazzzbuster5 thumbnail
jazzzbuster5 I find these Stylin' collections to be very hit and miss, but I suppose the purpose of them is to expose a broad spectrum of styles to the public. Unfortunately many do not appeal to my ears.

I do find these collections still worth buying though if I simply pay fair value for the songs I do like, such as Billy Hoyle, Itai Kriss, Taylor Crawford, MckNasty, and David Versace. Check it out and see which ones turn your crank!
Sea Foam
Sea Foam thumbnail
Sea Foam There is so much good music on this comp! On repeat for days. Current fav keeps changing! Favorite track: Tempo (feat. Roberto do Trompete & Mestre Nico).
Chris Welch
Chris Welch  thumbnail
Chris Welch Another incredible compilation in what is becoming an essential series! Big up Stylin'!
PlayItLoud!
PlayItLoud! thumbnail
PlayItLoud! These Styles-Series are like so divers, Ennio's Style can be anyone's style....

Although... how smart to make a whole series of artists, bands, folklore and singers that tix al the boxes time & time again. It is so fresh, so modern, but all of them is quality in it's kind.

99% of your collection, you know by heart. Consider Ennio's Styles Series as your musical surprise-party. Favorite track: Currents.
more...
/
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.

    Free download. Or if you choose to pay, I will donate all proceeds to 3RRR-FM, the non-profit Melbourne community station which has given Stylin' a home since 2001. Paying also allows you to add the album to your Bandcamp fan collection and leave a comment/review.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price

     

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.
29.
30.
31.

about

3RRR Radiothon on now!: rrr.org.au/subscribe
Stylin' on-demand + playlists: rrr.org.au/explore/programs/stylin
My label Heard and Felt: heardandfelt.bandcamp.com
What I'm buying on Bandcamp: bandcamp.com/enniostyles
Streaming playlists and more links: linktr.ee/enniostyles

There's nothing special about 1000. My 1000th show should be about the same thing as every other show - great (mostly) new music across the soulful spectrum. And this Stylin' 1000 compilation is not meant to be any more special than the 500, 600 or 900 ones.

The thing about 1000 though is it is roughly the number of new songs I listen to every week. So that's a million songs over the 20 years I've been presenting Stylin' every Friday afternoon on Melbourne's 3RRR-FM. The 1000 gets distilled down to about 30 over the two hours of the show, and then every two years about 30 appear on one of these comps. So when you look at it like that, these songs are very special! They certainly are to me.

Some of these artists have been guests on the show. In the case of Melbourne artists Allysha Joy and Danika Smith, their recording was actually made live to air on the show. The others hail from all continents except Antarctica! While many are not household names, the artists and musicians heard here have worked with other Stylin' guests and favourites like Milton Nascimento, IG Culture, Amp Fiddler, Theo Parrish, Robert Glasper, Kamaal Williams, Orquesta Akokán, Derrick Hodge, Soul II Soul, Horatio Luna, Peven Everett, Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, 79.5, Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Lauryn Hill, Idris Ackamoor, Kendrick Lamar, Q-Tip, Faith Evans, Shabazz Palaces, London Elektricity, Cee Lo Green, Arthur Verocai, Mulatu Astatke, Tony Allen, Soulection and Hiatus Kaiyote.

Since Stylin' 500 came out 10 years ago, the series has featured a pretty great roll call of artists, including Melanie Charles, DJ Harrison, Sampha, Brandee Younger, Leron Thomas, Zach Witness, Daniel Crawford, Andras Fox, Opolopo, Nduduzo Makhathini, Oddisee, Zeitgeist Freedom Energy Exchange, Silentjay, Jordan Rakei, JAB, Teymori, I'lls and Sterling Void. Some of these artists have gone on to sign with labels like Blue Note, Stones Throw, Impulse and Verve.

Stylin' 1000 is possible thanks to the generosity of many incredible artists and labels. Please explore and support their amazing music through the following links:
Wax Machine waxmachine.bandcamp.com
Billy Hoyle billyhoylemusic.bandcamp.com
Kolider kolider.bandcamp.com
ROMderful romderful.bandcamp.com
Itai Kriss itaikriss.com televana.bandcamp.com
Allysha Joy allyshajoy.com
Danika Smith danikasmith.bandcamp.com
Los Charly's Orchestra imagenes.co.uk
Felexia (FKA Sugg Savage) suggsavage.bandcamp.com
Rowpieces rowtownrecords.bandcamp.com
Native Dancer nativedancer.co.uk
Seu Estrelo e O Fuá do Terreiro instagram.com/seuestrelo
Greybox officialgreybox.bandcamp.com
Damar Davis damardavis.bandcamp.com
voiceROM voicerom.bandcamp.com
Jarv Dee jarvdee.bandcamp.com
Bad Colours badcolours.bandcamp.com
Mysie mmmmysie.com
70hz Recordings seventyhertz.com
The Sweet Enoughs wondercoreisland.bandcamp.com
Guilherme Held guilhermeheld.bandcamp.com
YB Music ybmusic.com.br
Daniel Riera danielriera.bandcamp.com danielrieramusic.com
MckNasty mcknasty.bandcamp.com
Zepherin Saint triberecords.bandcamp.com
Lyndon Jarr lyndonjarr.com
Small Print Recordings smallprintrecordings.com
Alps 2 alps2.bandcamp.com
Ad Hoc Records adhoc-records.bandcamp.com
Frederic Robinson fredericrobinson.bandcamp.com
Javier Santiago/Taylor Johnson/Miguel Hurtado javiersantiago.bandcamp.com
A. instagram.com/yoadrienne
David Versace davidversace.bandcamp.com
Ndabo Zulu ndabozulu.bandcamp.com
Carl Grubbs carlgrubbsjazz.org

credits

released September 20, 2021

HF026

license

all rights reserved

tags

about

Ennio Styles Melbourne, Australia

Soul messenger:
Stylin' 3RRR-FM
Worldwide FM
Heard and Felt
Bandcamp
Spotify playlist
linktr.ee/enniostyles

contact / help

Contact Ennio Styles

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Ennio Styles recommends:

If you like Ennio Styles, you may also like: